Lightroom by Adobe is a management system for your photos which helps you view, edit and manage digital photos in the same way that photographers handle traditional photographs. |
Lightroom is meant to be used for viewing thumbnails and full screen previews of the images you've imported into the Lightroom catalog. It will remember where all the images were located on your hard drive. You don't need to copy images or move them in order to use Lightroom; it will make a link to them in their original location.
The Lightroom catalog does not have the original images but only links to wherever they are stored. If the link is broken because the hard drive isn't connected or you don't have the DVD inserted, it will still let you see a thumbnail and full screen preview that is a part of the catalog.
It is also fast. The images that are added to a Lightroom catalog can be scrolled through as quickly as your mouse wheel can spin, even when they are on another external disc or hard drive. The full screen previews and thumbnails are there even if the drive they are on is disconnected, as all images you have viewed or downloaded are in its memory.
Once Lightroom opens an image it is there permanently. Images won't disappear when you disconnect the hard drive after previewing; Lightroom captures the image and keeps it until you delete it.
Lightroom uses non-destructive image editing that records changes in the metadata files instead of altering the pixel values. This means you always have your original image. This make it ideal for post production work when working with huge amounts of photos. It is the perfect tool for the professional photographers.